Normally pages and posts are cached on the server for faster loading times. This can lead to several-minute delays before your content appears to the public. If a change needs to happen immediately, such as fixing wrong information, you can use this tool to manually delete the cache and force the update through faster.
In some instances when changes are made to an individual page or the homepage, they can only be seen if the user is logged into the site. A visitor who is not logged in will not be able to see the changes. If this occurs, the cache needs to be emptied. The Performance plugin allows you to empty all caches. To do so:
- Log into the site (you must be an Administrator)
- Click on the Performance link on the top of your screen and select, ‘Empty All Caches’